You'll see a message that iTunes is restoring your iPhone to its factory settings. You'll also see additional messages as the iPhone's firmware is updated.
This takes several minutes; do not disconnect your iPhone while it's running. You'll see an Apple logo and a progress bar on the iPhone's screen while the restoration is in progress. You can move on to step eight.